Tantangan Professor, PHd Offer, and Hard Work


There is a habit or ritual in the BBEL (Bioproduct-Bioprocess Engineering Laboratory of Biological System Engineering-WSU in the beginning of every year that the Professor will evaluate the student’s performance for one year before and determine the target for one year ahead.

My evaluation in the individual meeting was scheduled at January 7th 2016, exactly one year difference with my very first individual meeting last year.

It was basically me telling the story for what I have accomplished in 2015 so far, what was the most interesting and significant findings, what was my major difficulties, and what was the suggestion for the better management. He wrote the evaluation in his file in the computer, and also in his note.

He was really interested about my result..to be exact a little bit hyped about it. That’s why when I gave myself the evaluation score, he always gave me higher score than that.

The most wonderful thing that he said at that time was that he offered me the PHD position. Unlike the others who perhaps asked for it.. Actually i did nothing.. He was the one who offered that. This thing is more or less based on my expectation regarding the fact that I am the only official student in the AD group while the other members are postdoc and long-distance-students in China, meanwhile there are abundant work in the AD field. So.. more or less I can see it coming. But well,I cannot hide my excitement and happiness when the offer came though.. This was more or less a recognition from what I have done so far.. and I am really thankful for that although I dont really feell I truly deserved it. REALLY…..

He said that I was the only master student that he already gave a promise for PHD support when I decide to continue my program here. and he also said that he only gave this chance to an excellent student..

To be honest, I was really mixed at that time. My result was not that good although he thought that the parameter I proposed is a new thing for the biogas evaluation parameter. There was a load too when I heard him saying that.. I mean,.. I am not that excellent, I am not that hardworking.. only Allah knows how I truly am.
image

But that thing was said and although my original plan is to go back first and continue the doctoral program at Germany. TBH, this makes me thinks again about what I am really gonna do. I dont know yet now… The only thing that I need to focus on is the Spring Graduation and academic paper submission if I really want to end everything safely.. ehheheh…

In that evaluation., The professor wrote in the form, that “IF I can GRADUATE ON-TIME and submit 2 papers, I will be the most productive MS student in BBEL in the last 10 years”.

innalillah… this challenge hit me right in the kokoro hehhehe…. I mean.. I dont know whether I can meet this expectation or not, although there is a possibility I can do that. But bismillah….. the challenge is on…

The last thing he said was about the award that he will give to the best 6 presenters in the BBEL Annual retreat 2015 that was scheduled at January 8th. If I can make a very good presentation, I can also get the recognition from the peers. (This story will be written later ^____^). But he said, “even though you didnt get that award tomorrow, at least until now, you have the highest score from my evaluation.. and please keep the good work.”

Some of his advice were already put in the facebook though, so I will not repeat it again here.

But btw, when I told my mom regarding this, she was little sad that she thinks it will be much more better If i can come back and continue the S3 in Indonesia, get married and have a happyly ever after ending hehehhe…

well,,, so far Allah always give the best surprise for me.. so as long as I give my best for the remaining 4 months I will be happy whatever the result is..

 

About iinparlina

Seorang Insan manusia yang diciptakan Allah dengan segala kekurangan dan kelebihannya, yang mencoba menjadi seorang yang dicintaiNya, dan salah satu cara yang dilakukannya adalah dengan menulis, membagi sedikit sekali ilmu yang dimilikinya. Meskipun sedikit, dia berharap dari yang sedikit itu, ilmu itu bisa bermanfaat untuk orang lain sebagaimana dia pun membutuhkan Ilmu untuk membuatnya bisa menjejakan kakinya di surga.

Posted on January 11, 2016, in impian jundi, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

